Tap to Read ➤

The Basics of Yoga

Mukta Gaikwad Feb 21, 2020
Yoga has been the most ancient way of achieving not just physical fitness, but mental and spiritual upliftment too. The basics of yoga aim to motivate those who yearn for holistic cleansing and harmony for their body, mind, and soul.
Yoga, is a word derived from Sanskrit, meaning the 'union with the divine'. It is a method which teaches the individual soul to connect with the Supreme Soul or what we better relate to as, God.
Yoga is the ancient art of using your concentration to attain the union of body, mind and soul. It's a discipline which teaches you to balance your emotions and intentions. It is a way of achieving holistic fitness. Learning the basics of yoga will relieve you of your stress, fatigue, and pain.

Yoga Poses for Beginners

Surya Namaskar

The surya namaskar is one of the foremost yoga poses. It literally means, 'salute to the sun'. This asana or posture, uses the entire body, from head to toe, to worship the sun. This yoga posture is practiced as a physical exercise for fitness by world at large.
However, a surya namaskar can be performed as total sadhana and devotation, which accomplished the asana, pranayama, mantra and chakra meditation. This exercise is supposed to be done at sunrise to reach a spiritual arousal. A full surya namaskar, consists of two sets of 12 poses. Ideally, this yoga postures is to be repeated 12 times with the 12 mantras.

Ashtanga Namaskar

Ashtanga namaskar is a derivation of surya namaskar. Asht means eight in Sanskrit and anga means body. Thus comes its nomenclature which means eight parts of the body saluting together for self-healing and fitness.
This yoga posture provides a thorough massage to every curve of your body and flexing and working on every important part of the body. This ensures your body gets the required strength and shape. This yoga exercise helps the heart by providing much-needed exercise to the cardiac muscles and arteries.
With synchronized breathing and body movements of ashtanga namaskar and chanting of mantras, it lightens up the piled up anger, agitations, and anger within. This yoga technique cleanses the soul and restores the lost radiance within, changing the reflection of your aura to a positive one.


Prana means is breath in Sanskrit, which is considered as the vital force of life in our general understanding and ayam means control. Thus pranayama means rhythmic control of breathing for a healthy body and mind.
There are many types of pranayams practiced in various schools of yoga. Surya Bhedan, Bhasrika, Ujjayi, Shitali, Sitkari, Bhramari, Murchha & Plavini Pranayama are the breathing exercises practiced in Hatha Yoga.
Anulom - Vilom, quiet breathing, deep breathing and fast breathing are some more breathing exercises that are popularly practiced by beginners to experience the mental and physical harmony, which is often hidden beneath the random rantings of the preoccupied mind.


The yoga basics end with Shavasna, which is the final yoga pose. A yoga exercise session surceases with shavasan. Shava refers to a dead body and asana means posture. Thus this yoga posture is about getting in a relaxed position, just like a corpse, which is ready to depart the material world and enter a new life filled with hope and energy.
This yoga pose resembles a dead body which is worn out, fatigued, battered and bruised its spirit which reflects the outside. But as the asana comes to an end, it rejuvenates the body, nourishes its spirit and brings it back to life, which is blessed with good health, vigor, and verve.
These are the four yoga basics to begin with. Yoga, as a form of traditional exercise, is a technique of directing the human personality beyond the whimpering of the harrowed life. It aims at uplifting the broken down spirit and unfolding its inner strength the peace within for the peace outside.